A migraine attack is 4 stages long

migraine awarenessmigraine awareness(1)migraine awareness(2)migraine awareness(3)

People think of a migraine like a ‘really bad’ headache. They do not understand it is an attack and it is a neurological disease.

The attack has 4 stages: Prodrome, Aura, Headache, Postdrome.

Now not all stages are necessary. Migraines without aura, do not get the aura stage. Silent migraines do not get the Headache stage. You may skip the prodrome for one attack and go straight into the headache stage. Stages have variability as well, lasting different lengths. You could also end a migraine at the Headache and go right into the prodrome of another migraine.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s